Help Please PURE Black 990FX Motherboard

Mgutierrez33

New member
Aug 20, 2013
826
0
Wow, that's pretty brutal. Can't say that I've ever encountered this one before... I imagine that this problem didn't always exist? I imagine you already tried this, but have you reseated all of your components? Sometimes the stupidest little things are what cause such huge problems. I once had an issue with motherboards mysteriously bricking in my girlfriend's machine... turns out it was a stupid little bit of exposed copper on the bottom of her NZXT Hue lighting strip grounding out on the case occasionally. Is Sapphire willing to offer any assistance on this?
 

Cyberburnout

Moderator
Jul 10, 2012
5,362
0
You got the board from Neil.If he says it was working then it was working. So we need to find out what changed from the time he tested it to when you booted it up. Relax my man. No need to freak out and give up. We all have had some issues getting a system up and running. Hell you should hear the horror story of the Urban T81 build. Hell the workstation build I posted a week or so ago didnt want to act right either. I sat there and played with different memory setups for hours until I found one that works. Never got dual channel to work on that board either. Grrr

So lets work together on a solution.

Do you have other memory to try?
Have you tried 1 stick o memory at a time to check for defective ram?
Remove the KB, Mouse and any other devices connected to the USB.
Have you removed all non essential devices-DVD/CDrom, Any USB devices, Sata drives, ect ect All that should be connected is power, power switch and the monitor cable. Try a keyboard after first boot,
Do you have another PSU you can test with?


I will send a msg to our Sapphire rep to see if he has any insight into this. Lets knock out all the easy stuff first.
 

Cyberburnout

Moderator
Jul 10, 2012
5,362
0
I also keep seeing people saying that if you create a ticket Sapphire will give you a "1APEF036.ROM" bios to fix a bunch of issues. For some reason this bios is not there for the general public. Makes so sense at all. I also seen people having a similar issue as you are. It was caused by the GPU. The GPU isnt bad, it is like an imcompatiblity issue until 1APEF036.ROM was installed. Do you have an older GPU to try?
 

Cyberburnout

Moderator
Jul 10, 2012
5,362
0
Booting without a CPU will prove nothing in this case. Dont mess with the cooler just yet. Lets try the other stuff first.
 

Cyberburnout

Moderator
Jul 10, 2012
5,362
0
You are assuming that without trying. I registered and completed 2 rmas on products that were registered.
 

Cyberburnout

Moderator
Jul 10, 2012
5,362
0
I am a gold member. Pm with info. I'll also talk with Sapphire rep tomorrow. Slipped my mind when I just spent the last 2 days 20 ft from him and went to eat twice together. Duh lol sorry bro
 

Cyberburnout

Moderator
Jul 10, 2012
5,362
0
My friend Daniel had me download a 1APEF036 file from the MB BIOS section of their website. I put that and some other program or file on a thumb drive to try flashing the BIOS, but that didn't help. I think it's bricked or something cause I don't see anything being able to fix it. I sent the info that they request for the support ticket in a PM. Thanks for helping me out.


Just to keep you updated. Our rep has no clue what to do about this issue. Did you happen to plug up the 4 pin molex at the bottom of the board? It suppose to be for PCIe power but go ahead and plug it up if you currently do not.
 
ARCTIC

Latest posts

Top